Messi, Ronaldo missing as UEFA announces Men’s Player of the Year award finalists / Messi and Ronaldo

The trio of Kevin de Bruyne, Robert Lewandowski and Manuel Neuer have been nominated for the 2019/20 UEFA men’s player of the year award.

The Europe’s football governing body announced the trio as candidates for the award on its website on Wednesday from a shortlist of ten players.

Lewandowski, a striker, and Neuer, a goalkeeper, were part of the Bayern Munich team that defeated PSG 1-0 to win the UEFA Champions League (UCL) last month.

Lewandowski also scored 55 goals in 47 games as Bayern won the treble, and was top scorer in the UCL with 15 goals.

Neuer was the captain and leader during the German club’s all-conquering 2019/20 season. The 33-year-old missed only a game throughout the season and kept six clean sheets in the UCL, including man of the match performance in the final against PSG.

De Bruyne and Manchester City, however, fell short at the quarter-finals to Lyon despite the Belgian midfield maestro spectacular performance in the tournament.

The top ten consists of five players from Bayern and two from PSG, with Lionel Messi and Neymar Jr. joint-fourth with 53 votes.

The rest of the top ten:

4 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 53 votes
= Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain) 53 votes
6 Thomas Müller (Bayern) 41 votes
7 Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain) 39 votes
8 Thiago Alcántara (Bayern) 27 votes
9 Joshua Kimmich (Bayern) 26 votes
10 Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus) 25 votes

The winner will be announced on October 1, during the UCL group stage draws.